Galaxy S4: My camera won't turn vertically!

dfogel72

Jun 14, 2013
Visit site
My S4 camera was working fine, picture quality isn't the greatest but I really don't know much about the settings so I'm sure that can be fixed. I very rarely use the camera in landscape or horizontally,
(I personally like having full screen pictures) but if need be, I could turn my phone and the camera would auto rotate (I have never had my phone itself set to auto rotate). Now, out of nowhere, my camera is stuck in landscape mode and all my pics and videos are sideways! I have to manually rotate all pics and my videos won't even rotate at all! Can anyone help me get my camera back?

Posted via Android Central App

Last edited by a moderator:

UJ95x

Retired Ambassador
Aug 26, 2013
Visit site
Re: My camera won't turn vertically!

Are you sure you don't have the phone's orientation lock on? You said yourself that you don't have auto-rotate on...

dfogel72

Jun 14, 2013
Visit site

I'm sorry, I'm new to this.. What do you mean the orientation? I didn't change anything in the settings at all. I never had auto rotate on but the camera itself always rotated when I turned it sideways to fit more in the shot. But the last time I used it that way, it stayed that way. It go back to vertical.

UJ95x

Retired Ambassador
Aug 26, 2013
Visit site

I'm sorry, I'm new to this.. What do you mean the orientation? I didn't change anything in the settings at all. I never had auto rotate on but the camera itself always rotated when I turned it sideways to fit more in the shot. But the last time I used it that way, it stayed that way. It go back to vertical.

In the notification shade, or when you pull down from the top, there is a row of icons. Slide it to the left until you get to orientation lock and turn it off. Then go into your camera and try it out

xceeder

Jan 3, 2014
Visit site

There isn't anything there that says orientation lock.