Galaxy S4 GT-i9500 4.4.2 kitkat (my experience so far)

jellykitkat12

Aug 22, 2014
Visit site
Hello guys, I'm new to Android Central. This thread is about "my experience on kitkat update so far", and sorry if I put this in a wrong section, I didn't want to bump older posts.

So, I've seen many complains about this update and I was desperate whether to install or not. I eventually chose to try it out, as you can see. It's been over a month since I bought the S4 (was 4.3 when I bought it) and 2 weeks since I updated, and so far this is what I got:
-performance improvements
-slight battery improvement (although at the beginning I had battery drain and Android System using 40% percent and Android OS System at the 2nd place on the list, now my screen scores 50% which I've heard it's normal)
-better benchmark score (from about 25k to about 28k)
-no problems related to SD card (can move, view and save anything to it, about what others were complaining as a "known issue").
-my brightness option at the notification bar didn't disappear, and my brightness is as normal as before (another "known issue")

I'm somewhat glad with the update (even if it doesn't change anything much, it's because of TouchWiz i guess), as I've also got an ability to choose my default apps (messaging and launcher, many people said that Google removed Samsung's stock messaging app and "replaced it with Hangouts only") and when I'm using GPS, I can choose between battery-related mods (and I've also seen the GPS icon not changed since the update). I'm also glad with the RAM needed for kitkat to run, I assume that's why my performance improved so much.

The only things I'm sad about are the white icons on the notification bar, but I got used to it. The transparent bar adds up to this.

EDIT: This is what I did prior to and after the update:
-removed the SD card
-did a factory reset
-made sure that after reset I skip everything that can be skipped