I am new to having a smartphone in general, and new to the samsung galaxy products, and I have a question about the phone heating up. When I use the phone for a decent period of time, the top half of the screen, especially the top quarter, and the back of the phone in the same area, near the camera, heats up, sometimes to the point of being somewhat uncomfortable to touch the screen, I have a case so holding the phone is not a big deal. I have noticed this since I got the phone, and after nearly 2 weeks of use (2 weeks on Saturday) I finally started to do research, and realized that this was a common problem for the s4. I did a factory reset and only reinstalled the necessary apps, plus an app to track the battery usage and temperature. I used my phone moderately, using the facebook app, snapchat, no pictures taken, no videos watched, no games played, and the battery heated up to nearly 95 degrees F (33ish C) with a battery optimization, and I am guessing that the top half of the phone got hotter than that (at least 100 by my estimate). I am running the newest version of Kitkat.

I have two questions about this. First, is this heat causing the battery to perform more poorly than it should? Also, will this heat be damaging to the phone in the long run, both for performance and battery life. I should also say that while the phone has been heating up, the performance has not seemed to lag or get worse. However, the battery is not lasting quite as long as I think it should, but I am new to smartphones and don't know what a normal battery life is like.

Second, if this is too hot and is affecting battery and potentially affecting performance, I should probably replace the phone. Would it be better to get another S4, or should I get a different phone, and if so, what phones stay cool better/have a better battery life?
    01-15-2015 11:55 PM