Galaxy S4 New version of OS - Two simple procedures

Alishibaz

Jun 1, 2015
Visit site
I'm very new to the world of smart phones and I'm afraid that I don't know very much about them. About 10 days ago, I bought a Samsung Galaxy S4 and yesterday, I upgraded to the latest version of the O/S. I sure do wish I'd never done that because apparently, there's no easy way to go back to the old version and I was just getting familiar it. Also, all the books I bought seemed to apply to the old version but not the new one. I hope I'm just misunderstanding.

FYI, the three books I bought are: 1) Samsung Galaxy S4 for Dummies 2) Samsung Galaxy S4 User Guide 3) Samsung Galaxy S4 Handbook

Anyway, I'm finding it quite difficult to understand what's going on now that I'm using the new version. But it keeps getting better, so who knows? Maybe I will grow to like it. In any case, for anyone who upgraded or is thinking of upgrading, I think the following post may be helpful.

This morning I spent about five hours learning how to do two simple things. They were:
1) How to add a Widget to the Home Screen
2) How to add an App to the Home Screen

These were very simple procedures when I used the older version of the S/W. But no longer. The one good thing about learning how to do these things was that there was a lot of supporting info I had to learn in order to do them and so I think it may have well be worth your time to read the rest of this post.

The best thing was that I really wanted to add these three specific items to my Home Screen:
1) A "Settings" widget (that makes it real quick and easy to get to the Settings screen). You just tap this widget.
2) A "Flashlight" widget (in case I get stuck in the dark, this thing is wonderful. The only problem is that they call it a "Torch" instead of a "Flashlight" because (I think) they are British).