Just got an OTA update from AT&T to Android 5.0. Any suggestions on what I should do?

rubrnekr

Nov 21, 2014
Visit site
**Okay, I'm just realizing that I'm apparently way behind and this has been coming out for a while now. You can disregard this if you'd like and I'll just go do some homework, like I should have done before posting.... Sorry...**

So I didn't even know there was an Android 5.0, but my phone just finished updating a few minutes ago. I'm absolutely terrible (!!!) with computers and operating systems and such, so I'm clueless as to what kinds of things you techies would immediately do after an update.
What kinds of things should I turn off or remove for both my privacy and safety?
What bull**** bloatware can I / should I delete?
How do I prevent any new spying?
And yada yada yada.... (I'm not even sure what questions to ask)

Being that I'm not a techie, I don't use a lot of complicated apps, sync my phone to any other electronics, or any of that kind of stuff. I use it to make phone calls, listen to online music stations, take pictures, cruise occasional social networks, and that's pretty much it. I'd love to get rid of all of the other crap if I could and still have a phone that worked...

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. Cheers!!

Rich F2

Dec 19, 2015
Visit site
After the update, some things may be moved, or out of order. Just go through your phone, see if all your apps, and photos, , contacts, and stuff , is still there. After my update. S5, 5.0, my phone acted buggy, it was only for a couple days. Now it is ok.

Posted via the Android Central App

Feldon

Sep 21, 2014
Visit site
Hopefully rubrnekr is seeing the 5.1.1 update notifications by now. I'd do:
  • make sure under Accounts under Google everything is set to Sync
  • make a full backup of your phone with Samsung Smart Switch
  • make a full backup of all your text messages with SMS Backup and Restore
  • export your Contacts as a VCF file