iRoot detected as a virus?

wecanfly

Jun 29, 2016
Visit site
So I'm trying to root my Galaxy S5 using iRoot. While trying to run the application, my antivirus, Avira, popped up saying the file contained code identified as "ANDROID/Spy.Agent.qqcc" I've never tried to root before so I don't know if this is normal or if my download is infected? Looking it up on google provided unhelpful results. Any help would be appreciated!

Last edited by a moderator:

wizzrah

Retired Ambassador
Jul 27, 2013
Visit site
Hello.

Here is a little information on ANDROID/Spy.Agent.qqcc.

According to Avira: "The file is a malicious Android application that undermines the security of the device or the privacy of the user. Typically, Android malware attempts to steal personal or account information, gain access to device functions via backdoors, send text messages or dial premium numbers, and lock or encrypt the device so the user has to pay to unlock the device. The term 'Spy' denotes part of a malware sample which tries to collect user information, serial numbers, or keystrokes. It may also upload the collected information to another location called the 'drop zone'."
Source: Android/Spy.Agent.qqcc - Avira Virus Lab

According to Symantec: "Android.Spyagent is a spyware application for Android devices that logs certain information and sends SMS messages to a predetermined phone number."
Source: https://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2012-090710-1836-99

I would stray away from one-click root solutions unless they are Open Source and backed by a strong community. You may have received that notification from your anti-virus application because it detected the APK was attempting to modify a file or install something malicious of its own.