Complete newbie to S5 & to rooting here, so some basic questions.

I'm guessing that when I root I'm also installing a replacement OS....? Is that a hacked version of the Samsung OS, or something different?

Will I need to replace all the standard apps by finding & d.loading others manually or what? If so would this be from the play store or where?

Will security apps like Bitdefender Mobile with on a rooted phone?

Answers to these &/or links to a beginner's FAQ would be really appreciated.... Thanks!

btw, the main reasons I'm thinking of rooting: I was setting up my new (to me) unlocked S5 SM-G900F & had a couple of problems...

the Contacts app kept crashing - I just got the "unfortunately, contacts has stopped" message & clearing the cache &/or data, disabling/re-enabling the app, or factory reset didn't work & one of the options suggested online was to root

the other reason is that I'd just got the setup beginning to be how i wanted when whizz home & whizz easy home (or something like that) appeared & took over & I couldn't get rid of them (which ***** thought they'd be a good idea!?!)....I don't even know why they suddenly kicked in when I'd just had the normal home screen for an hour or so...?
    08-10-2016 02:36 AM
    Hello and welcome to Android Central Shadow!

Complete newbie to S5 & to rooting here, so some basic questions.

I'm guessing that when I root I'm also installing a replacement OS....? Is that a hacked version of the Samsung OS, or something different?
    No. To root the international model you just replace the kernel. See, [SM-G900*] CF-Auto-Root

Will I need to replace all the standard apps by finding & d.loading others manually or what? If so would this be from the play store or where?

Will security apps like Bitdefender Mobile with on a rooted phone?

Answers to these &/or links to a beginner's FAQ would be really appreciated.... Thanks!