How to disable Caller ID voice announcement on S5?

NickA

Sep 15, 2010
Visit site
Re: Phone speaking name of caller

I'm new to android switching from Apple, I'm learning this phone quickly as I've browsed all of the options mentioned throughout this thread and I still have not successfully resolved this issue. Any tech junkies out there with further advice I would be very grateful! Thanks:mad:

Has anyone figured this out? I am desperately searching for a way to stop the announcing of CallerID name/number.

I do have it set to answer the call with "answer" or "reject", but on my Note 3 it's set the same way and the caller name/id is not spoken. On the S5 it is.

So maybe you can't turn of announcing callerID info if you simply want to answer the phone with "answer"? If that's the case, I'm again reminded why I try to stay away from Samsung phones.

Chris Angus

May 2, 2014
Visit site

This did it!
Hi Guys

I also had this problem with the annoying caller ID with my S5! !

I have disabled mine finally and this is how I did it:

Accessibility > Vision > Talkback > Settings (at bottom) > Under Speech Category - Untick Speak Caller ID

All done!!

Hope this helps

NickA

Sep 15, 2010
Visit site

This did it!

I tried that too and it still speaks the name/number. Apparently you can't use voice control to answer or reject a call without it speaking the caller ID name or number.

It's not like that on my Note 3 though. Hate the inconsistencies.

dmj58au

Jan 8, 2014
Visit site

Thanks. I had to go one step further on my S5 - into Vision>Talkback>Settings(down the bottom of page) and uncheck Speak Caller ID. A very convoluted way of doing things.

dmj58au

Jan 8, 2014
Visit site

Thanks. I had to go one step further on my S5 - into Vision>Talkback>Settings(down the bottom of page) and uncheck Speak Caller ID. A very convoluted way of doing things.