how to turn off sound for email notifications

kldisantis

May 30, 2014
Visit site
Hello all.
Im new to the android family and im trying to figure out how to turn off the notification sound when I get a new email. I can't seem to figure it out. I do not want to turn off my ringer or text though. I just get a ton of spam emails at all hours of the day. Thanks in advance.

Posted via Android Central App

trickym81

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
If you're using Gmail, got to settings, click on the email account you want to make changes to, then tap "Inbox sound and vibrate." You'll see a section called "Sound." Change it to silent.

cynjonsson

Oct 24, 2014
Visit site
To whomever replied
"If you're using Gmail, got to settings, click on the email account you want to make changes to, then tap "Inbox sound and vibrate." You'll see a section called "Sound." Change it to silent."
THANK YOU<THANK YOU< THANK YOU!!!! I got the new Galaxy Note 4 last week (I've had the galaxy note 1 since it was first released). Even the ATT folks don't know how to work it. All I want to hear is my phone ring and my calendar notification. Everything else needs to be quiet or the constant noise will drive me insane! Thought I had figured out how to set all the individual apps on "silent". Kept hearing notifications though. Finally figured out that it was the email setting, but couldn't figure out how to get to it! THANKS AGAIN!!! :D

Patrick Novak

Jun 2, 2014
Visit site
The only way I've found to silence an email notification is to go to /settings/sound/default notification sound/ and select 'none'.
This of course turns off all notifications! I've tried /settings/accounts/email/account settings/gmail/notification settings/ and then tried 1.turning off email notification and 2. turning it on, but selecting a ringtone of 'silent'. Either of which would seem to be the right thing, but do absolutely nothing.
There's nothing under /settings/apps