Rooting Questions - Verizon S5

Christopher Hoffman

Jun 16, 2014
Visit site
So after many years of being away from android and living in the apple world, I am back with a brand new S5 on verizon.

From what i have read, things have changed about rooting.

A few questions:

is there a way to root it and not trip the knox flag?

does rooting still kill wifi tether?

is wifi tether and OTA's both doable with rooting now?

if i root my phone will i have access to change and add widgets to the home screen?

Do we know if i can just wipe the phone and install a fresh copy of kitkat and not have know or a locked bootloader anymore?

Last edited:

Ironhead2244

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Using the towelroot method should not trip KNOX. I rooted my AT&T S5 using towelroot and my counter still says 0x0.

Hello sorry if this is a stupid question. But I am new to this. I also rooted my at&t s5 with towel root. What did you mean by your counter still reads 0x0? What is that and where do I find it? Thank you in advance.

Posted via Android Central App

Chief G-Hawk

Sep 9, 2013
Visit site
Hello sorry if this is a stupid question. But I am new to this. I also rooted my at&t s5 with towel root. What did you mean by your counter still reads 0x0? What is that and where do I find it? Thank you in advance.

Go to Google Play Store and download " Phone Info * Samsung* by VNDNGUYEN and you can then find out some information. As long as you don't install custom rom it shouldn't trigger it. I installed xposed and that does not trigger the KNOX Warranty Void Counter.

mhunter6378

May 15, 2013
Visit site
Go to Google Play Store and download " Phone Info * Samsung* by VNDNGUYEN and you can then find out some information. As long as you don't install custom rom it shouldn't trigger it. I installed xposed and that does not trigger the KNOX Warranty Void Counter.