Samsung Galaxy S5 Question-screen-shot.jpgClick image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot.jpg 
Views:	137 
Size:	93.8 KB 
ID:	136374Hello All,

I would like to first say that I am new to the Android world being a recent Apple user. Also I would like to mention that I have read forum and you tube videos for nearly 12 hours and I still can not figure this out. This is my situation. I am currently in Korea and my wife got me a Galaxy S5 for my birthday and Verizon ensured her it was unlocked. I received the phone today and placed my SK Telecom Sim card in the phone. After turning it on it said that the Sim card is unknown. Additionally the phone says it needs to be activated from the drop down menu. What I have learned is that you can root your phone and when I tried to root my phone it isn't supported even if I changed the numbers and it still wouldn't work and I figured out you can't root the phone after the latest update. I'm also tried the freezing the setup wizard and that did not work. I took the phone to the SK Telecom people and they refused to help me because I did not purchase the phone from them. Without the root being done to my phone I can't delete the Verizon software that most likely is causing me my troubles so I am at a loss. Please do not flame me I have read a lot today trying to figure this issue out before I posted this message. Thank you for your interest and information.

Justin
    09-13-2014 05:31 AM
    Is the phone new or did you get it from someone? I would call Verizon and verify it's unlocked. I'm new to the s5 also, so I don't know exactly how the process works. I know with att the original owner needs to do the unlocking on their own through the att site. Now that's with an iphone.
    09-13-2014 06:33 AM
    Black Thorne its a new phone. I can now make calls and texts but no data.
    09-13-2014 06:58 AM
    Black Thorne its a new phone. I can now make calls and texts but no data.