I don't want to lose my warranty but I want to root my phone.

Posted via the Android Central App
    09-28-2014 09:57 AM
    Well you have to weigh the pros and cons, and decide what is best for you.
    If having superuser access is more important than the warranty, then do it.
    If the warranty is more important, don't do it.

Posted via Android Central App with my Samsung Galaxy S5
    09-28-2014 09:59 AM
    The whole warranty thing is really not an issue if you're just rooting to freeze bloat or maybe ad away.
    Unless you trip Knox counter your phone can always be returned to "out of the box new" via Odin.
    I've never had a problem with warranty after returning to 100% stock.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
    09-28-2014 10:08 AM
    I'd never try to do that. First I'd probably crash my phone..... and besides I'm a newbie. What would be the reason for rooting it?????

=]

09-28-2014 10:28 AM
    The whole warranty thing is really not an issue if you're just rooting to freeze bloat or maybe ad away.
    Unless you trip Knox counter your phone can always be returned to "out of the box new" via Odin.
    I've never had a problem with warranty after returning to 100% stock.

I want to root it for the Ad Block but also for removing bloatware because the updates are annoying and take up memory.

09-28-2014 11:08 AM
    I'd never try to do that. First I'd probably crash my phone..... and besides I'm a newbie. What would be the reason for rooting it?????

=]

ROMs, more features, more apps, more utilities, etc. (I've done it with a Samsung Admire which was before I went to iPhone or this S5 but I'm afraid that I'll need my warranty at some point)

indigogrl79 and bigmatt503 like this.
    09-28-2014 11:28 AM

=]

Everyone of us was a newbie at some point😀.
    I like to make my phone MY phone and I mostly root for ad blocking, xposed framework and disabling bloatware from good old Verizon.

indigogrl79 likes this.
    09-28-2014 01:55 PM