Why is my GMail/Google profile pic not showing in GMail 5.0?

waqqas31

Nov 4, 2014
Visit site
Disclaimer: I am a relative Android noob (1 month of experience).

Even though my GMail display pic is showing up everywhere on my Google desktop apps/webpages, 48 hours later and it has still NOT synced onto my phone. See the screenshot below/attached. The blue icon/avatar, should be where my picture shows up.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong or this is normal behavior for everybody? Does anybody get their display pic to show up on this screen?

Attachments

• Screenshot_2014-11-07-15-42-08.jpg
    Screenshot_2014-11-07-15-42-08.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 85

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Mine shows up just fine. Try signing out of the GMail app and signing back in. If that doesn't work, then go into your Application Manager and clear Cache for GMail.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Open Settings, go to Accounts, find your Google account, and de-select SYNC GMail. From the GMail app, tapp on the menu button, select your account and you should see a drop down menu. There, select Manage Accounts.

But I think clearing cache might help faster... Clearing data is also something you might want to try, but that means you'll have to re-configure your GMail app when you re-open it (notification sounds, etc.). You do this from Settings, Application Manager, find the GMail app and those options should be there.

waqqas31

Nov 4, 2014
Visit site
I was about to reply and tell you that it's not working, but all-of-a-sudden, when I was switching accounts in the GMail app for the first time today, I noticed that my DP had updated (hooray!)

Granted, I did not try your "Clear Data" recommendation, but one thing different that did happen in the last 24 hours was that I received an email from a contact that had a Google+ DP set of his own. Perhaps this "triggered" the app to force update any DPs on my device.

I'm a happier camper now. Thanks for the tips!