I have an S5 under Verizon and I haven't received the Lollipop update yet. I was wondering if it would be a good idea to root before he comes out or wait until after the update?
    01-16-2015 01:12 PM
    If you don't have a need to be rooted then there is no reason to root now or later.
    01-16-2015 01:37 PM
    I do NOT see the need to root the VZW S5 in the first place.

And I hope to gawd that VZW never releases a LolliFlop version.

This conversation should be in the root area anyway.

But, if you wait, you will have to wait longer because the root folks will have to take into consideration that it has LolliFlop on it already.

Most of the phones I see rooted are using 4.4.2 as it is faster and more stable.
    01-16-2015 01:38 PM
    Ok, thanks.. I'm noob here so wasn't sure where to post it.
    01-16-2015 02:10 PM
    Thank you, AZgl1500, for naming the new version properly. I love it. (I'm getting slow in my dotage, or I would have thought of it long ago.)

Athru, if you need root for some reason, wait for the update (and then wait for someone to figure out how to root that version). The update will stop (you'll get a notice that it failed - it didn't, it succeeded - in not risking bricking your phone by updating a rooted phone) at about 25% if the phone is rooted. Then you'll have to flash a stock (unrooted) ROM to update, then root again.

If you really need root at this point, of course, root it. But it's not going to change anything (other than allowing you to run apps that need to be rooted, which you aren't doing now). But as far as I've seen, the only root for Verizon for 4.4.4 is going to trip Knox, and that voids the warranty. (AT&T is the same, which is why I'm still running 4.4.2 - I do need root, for a lot of things - not the least of which is the utter obscenity of running Linux with su missing.)
    01-16-2015 04:17 PM
    Rukbat,