Why do I see pictures in the Gallery in a different order from the order they were saved in the SD card?

Evgeny47

Jun 25, 2015
Visit site
Why I see pictures in Gallery on order different from order they saved in SD card

Hello, I am beginner here.
I moved WhatApp's pictures from Device storage to SD card. Since that moment I see those pictures in the Gallery in random order. Pictures on the SD card sorted by name. Have I any way to rearrange pictures order in Gallery? Samsung Galaxy S5, Android 4.4.2

BerryBubbles

Aug 14, 2014
Visit site
Re: Why I see pictures in Gallery on order different from order they saved in SD card

Hi & Welcome!

Pictures in the default Gallery are sorted by date.

In the Gallery settings, there are options to set up Tag Buddy which enables you to tag each picture. Seems like a lot of work.

Personally, I just make a lot of folders & keep the pics sorted by folder.

I see QuickPic recommended from the play store quite often. It offers more options.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.alensw.PicFolder&hl=en

One small word of advice. Keep your photos backed up. You will find several threads where people have had their photos just disappear or become corrupt. I just transfer mine to my pc, but you can sync them to the cloud if you prefer. Best Wishes!

Evgeny47

Jun 25, 2015
Visit site
Re: Why I see pictures in Gallery on order different from order they saved in SD card

Thank you BerryBubbles for your answer and advice, I backed up my photos. I want to remark, that all photos I see now in Gallery (after they had been moved from Gallery to SD card) consist of some blocks. Photos really sorted by date in each block, but there isn't any correlation between blocks. All photos on SD card sorted by name = data. I don't understand still why order was changed.

pchrist11

Sep 6, 2011
Visit site