Is there any way to sort the app drawer alphabetically?

dynot

Oct 16, 2014
Visit site
Sorting the app drawer and moving icons

Hi everyone. With the recent purchase of my S6 edge I'm new to android and have some quick questions.

First, is there any way to sort the app drawer alphabetically? When I click on edit the only option I get is to disable or uninstall apps.

Secondly, I recently read a tip somewhere that said to reboot into safe mode and then restart to normal. This would help improve battery life. Not sure if this is the cause but I did see an improvement after that. Anyway, I also noticed that apps in the app drawer are now scattered across 6 screens with some containing only 1 or 2 icons. I cannot move these to other screens. Is this normal behavior? Am I stuck with 3 screens with 1 or 2 icons on each? I don't recall if this was the case before I did the boot to safe mode.

Thanks for any advice.

dancing-bass

Jan 3, 2011
Visit site

dynot

Oct 16, 2014
Visit site
Re: Sorting the app drawer and moving icons

That's the thing. The only option I have in the app drawer is edit. Unless there's a menu button that I'm not seeing.

Posted via the Android Central App

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site

The menu is the 3 dots.

As far as booting into recovery first to prolong battery life, that's like spinning 3 times widdershins under a full moon to get rich. IOW, nonsense. There's no connection between booting into recovery mode and battery life. (Actually it wastes battery - you're booting twice and not getting anything the first time, so battery used for that first boot is wasted.)

Mark_Henson

Jun 28, 2012
Visit site

Just to the left of Edit you should see A-Z. That will sort them alphabetically, but if you add more apps, you have to do it again.

dynot

Oct 16, 2014
Visit site