Are we getting used/broken Edge phones?

KRW1

May 9, 2015
Visit site
I wanted to talk a little bit about Verizon again pertaining to the Edge landscape failure / camera controls upside down and auto brightness glitches. I solved those issues by settling with a regular S6 which I'm very happy with. I say settled because that's what it is. I wanted the Edge but the chances of getting a glitch free one is not very good during this time period. And those chances may be getting slimmer and slimmer.

What I wanted to discuss is the possibility that I received a used Edge. I base that on two things: in my settings it showed a factory reset two weeks before I purchased it and when the phone was unboxed and set up it happened in the back room, out of my sight. My replacement phone was unboxed and setup in front of me and it did not have a previous factor reset in the phones history. If you are able too you should keep an eye on this not just with the Egde, but any phone.

I'm no expert but I believe you can't sell a used item as new, although I'm sure it happens a lot in all areas of retail sales. Many times when you buy things there is a factory seal on it and you have to break it to open the packaging. I don't know if the S6 boxes have factory seals or not. One way to overcome that is to ask to see the phone in it's box before you agree to buy it. My rep actually did do this without me asking before it went to the back room. I could have made a mental note of the last few digits of the IMEI first which appears on the outside of the box. Then when the phone came back I could have gone into the settings to see if it was the right one. If it was different my credit card would not have come out of my wallet.

Why would Verizon or anyone else do this? Probably because they know an update will come along and fix the issues and the phones will stop coming back. It's a business decision really. It's probably illegal but proving they are doing it won't be easy.