How would I get OS updates for an AT&T phone as a Cricket customer?

CharlesCC2

Apr 29, 2015
Visit site
I'm new to Android so still have a lot to learn, and one thing I've been wondering is how I will be getting OS updates. I understand that they are pushed down by the carrier, but I have the AT&T branded phone and am using Cricket, so I suspect I might not be seeing any automatic updates at all. I would've kept things simple and got a Cricket phone but they don't offer anything other than the 32 GB sapphire.

Gekko

Banned
May 15, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to Android so still have a lot to learn, and one thing I've been wondering is how I will be getting OS updates. I understand that they are pushed down by the carrier, but I have the AT&T branded phone and am using Cricket, so I suspect I might not be seeing any automatic updates at all. I would've kept things simple and got a Cricket phone but they don't offer anything other than the 32 GB sapphire.

OS Updates are generally not affected by how your phone is connected to the internet. as long as you are connected to the internet - you will be eligible for any updates.

CharlesCC2

Apr 29, 2015
Visit site
Maybe I'm not understanding this correctly, but I thought the updates are pushed down by the mobile service providers. So AT&T would be the one to push the update down to their customers, right? And if this is the case would you have to have a AT&T branded phone, or would the updates also go to customers using a T-Mobile S6 on their network?

Again maybe I'm misunderstanding here, but I didn't think simply being connected to the internet would qualify me for receiving an update. I'm reading comments on an article now where people are complaining about Verizon not seeing any updates yet.

Laura Knotek

Moderator Captain
Jan 8, 2011
Visit site
AFAIK, if you're using an unlocked device on another carrier, you still get updates when the original carrier which the device is branded to releases the updates.