POP3 vs. IMAP

spectre72

Dec 7, 2010
Visit site
My wife and I bought new Samsung Galaxy S6 phones from our local Verizon dealer approx four weeks ago. It didn't take long
to realize that hers was taking 6 to 8 hours to receive an email that was sent to both of our phones from our daughter who
lives about 200 miles away while my phone had the mail with a couple of minutes.

After examining both phones I discovered that my phone was setup to use POP3 to access the mail server while her phone
was/is setup to use IMAP. I'm no expert, but I believe the operation of dealing with email should be transparent to the
user regardless of protocol used.
Two separate trips back to the Verizon store failed to get the problem solved. The representatives there were reluctant to
change her phone to POP3, and I am not comfortable trying it myself.

Since her phone otherwise works great, I'd rather not take it back for a replacement because she will most likely end up
with a reconditioned one which may or may not work as well.

Any suggestions?

jcp007

Trusted Member
May 17, 2012
Visit site
My wife and I bought new Samsung Galaxy S6 phones from our local Verizon dealer approx four weeks ago. It didn't take long
to realize that hers was taking 6 to 8 hours to receive an email that was sent to both of our phones from our daughter who
lives about 200 miles away while my phone had the mail with a couple of minutes.

After examining both phones I discovered that my phone was setup to use POP3 to access the mail server while her phone
was/is setup to use IMAP. I'm no expert, but I believe the operation of dealing with email should be transparent to the
user regardless of protocol used.
Two separate trips back to the Verizon store failed to get the problem solved. The representatives there were reluctant to
change her phone to POP3, and I am not comfortable trying it myself.