So I really want to customize my android experience. This is my first android phone, so I am pretty new to customizing. I know everyone complains about touchwiz (I don't mind it, but maybe that's because I've never used it till now). It seems pretty fast, but I just want to change the look.

It seems like you can really only change the homescreen look with launchers without any bugs. I would also like to change the lockscreen and notification bar looks. Is that possible?

For the homescreen I'm trying to use Nova Launcher, but I am so new to this I really don't know what exactly I want it to look like. How do you guys begin the customization process. I want something very colorful to use up the GS6 beautiful display, so I got a colorful wallpaper, the soul icon pack and now I don't really know how I want them placed/what widgets to use. Where do you guys get your widgets?

With changing default apps, I changed my messaging app to textra, sunrise for weather and google clock for my alarms. Are those good, and are there other apps I should consider replacing?

I know this thread is all over the place with questions, but any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
    09-04-2015 09:01 AM
    Welcome to Android Central and Android.

It seems like you can really only change the homescreen look with launchers without any bugs.
    Not just the look, but to a small degree, how it behaves. With Nova, you can add actions, scroll animations, gesture commands (Prime), etc.

I would also like to change the lockscreen and notification bar looks. Is that possible?
    Sadly, no. At least not unrooted (but not something for someone so new to the OS to dive into just yet)

How do you guys begin the customization process. I want something very colorful to use up the GS6 beautiful display, so I got a colorful wallpaper, the soul icon pack and now I don't really know how I want them placed/what widgets to use. Where do you guys get your widgets?