Themes from Samsung Theme Store.

bandofbrothers2112

Trusted Member
May 30, 2016
Visit site
Hi Guys.

I'm still pretty new to this platform and Samsung phones so please take this into account when reading my question. :)

I've owned my s7 edge for approx 4 months now and have been customising it. No rooting.

My question is on Themes.

My understanding these Themes in the Theme Store are by Delelopers ?

I believe Samsung Limit the Developers on what a Theme can change ?

Are these Themes vetted by Samsung ?

I was using the SB - Simply Basic Theme which is a Dark Theme for a while.

Yesterday some of the features on my phone froze.

I.e.

Double tap of home button wouldn't launch camera. Setting to allow this was On. Even turned it off, rebooted phone and back On but point blank refused to work.

Two finger swipe down from top of screen wouldn't work. One finger action did but then wouldn't let me bring the section section down.

The settings cog wheel in the top right hand corner would not launch. The down ^ would not work.

The steps I tried were...

Clear System Cache = No change.

I then considered a Factory Reset but before going through that I deleted my last apps = No change.

Toggled off the Theme and rebooted and it unfroze.

Now this may have been just a glitch and not the Theme.

Before I contact the developer I just wanted to put it out here to see if anyone else has had any issues using Themes in general.

Are there Pro's and Con's.

I wanted a Dark Theme as its suggested these can reduce battery drain as they are then turned off pixels using less than the white Ui Marshmallow uses.

Is this true ?
Is the saving minimal?

Thank you for reading and any personal experience and insight is welcomed.

Ipse_Tase

Sep 2, 2015
Visit site
While I haven't used the same exact theme you are referring to, I ALWAYS had a dark theme on my S7Edge.
Rotating between 5-6 of them at the moment - never had issues.