Charging and heating... is it actually an issue?

slim6y

Jul 11, 2016
Visit site
Hello, I want to start by saying I am a total noob to Android and Samsung, though my daughter had an S4 for 2 years, she now went to iPhone. So I decided to take the S7 for a spin. I am having some difficulty, but this is only day two.

Here is my issues... now I didn't set battery optimisation, but decided to go for a walk. I had the step counter on and I used MapFactor for about 4 or 5 minutes. I took 2 photos. All this in the span of half and hour and 15% of my battery, gone! Just like that. I had WiFi turned off.

The second issue is I notice the phone gets considerably warm, so I turned off fast charging (as suggested on another forum somewhere) and cleared the cache. I am not sure yet if that will make a difference, I am hoping on it.

I was going to transfer photos from my S7 to my computer via USB, and of course the phone begins to charge, so I thought I would let it recharge fully. It was about 77% about 6 hours ago. It is now at 75%. So I removed from the computer and plugged it in instead, still off of fast charge and turned on battery optimisation. About 25 minutes ago it was 75% now it is 73%.

I am curious how a phone, plugged in, charging, says 33 minutes till full charge, has battery optimization running, is actually losing charge?

Am I doing something wrong? What would you suggest I do? The phone is literally out of the box 32(ish) hours ago!

Thanks kindly.

mstrblueskys

Q&A Team
Dec 21, 2011
Visit site
Hello, I want to start by saying I am a total noob to Android and Samsung, though my daughter had an S4 for 2 years, she now went to iPhone. So I decided to take the S7 for a spin. I am having some difficulty, but this is only day two.