S7 might be my last samsung

Dooki

Mar 28, 2013
Visit site
Washington State just passed a law stating that we can no longer handle cell phones, or anything else for that matter, while driving. Since I drive for a living I need to be able to use voice assistant without touching the phone.
Samsung blocks GA from opening with the screen locked and s voice, while it does somewhat work is not reliable at all, it's junk basically. So I am going to see how well the note is and if they block it, or if bixby is any good by then. Otherwise it's the pixel 2.

Of course, Samsung might actually allow us to use Google Assistant with the screen off. Not holding breath.

mhinc

Dec 27, 2012
Visit site
Washington State just passed a law stating that we can no longer handle cell phones, or anything else for that matter, while driving. Since I drive for a living I need to be able to use voice assistant without touching the phone.
Samsung blocks GA from opening with the screen locked and s voice, while it does somewhat work is not reliable at all, it's junk basically. So I am going to see how well the note is and if they block it, or if bixby is any good by then. Otherwise it's the pixel 2.

Of course, Samsung might actually allow us to use Google Assistant with the screen off. Not holding breath.

Have you tried
https://forums.androidcentral.com/e...oid.automotive.drivelink&hl=en&token=Idy9qsA4

dov1978

Trusted Member
Oct 22, 2012
Visit site
Plug your phone into the charger. Problem solved! Ok, Google only works when the phone is LOCKED IF it's charging. This is something Samsung implemented to save battery when always listening is enabled

Tim1954

Q&A Team
Jan 17, 2016
Visit site
All my phones work fine in my jeep with Uconnect. Put Bluetooth on, sit it on the wireless charging pad, put the lid down and away I go. We can't use devices here either (Australia). I get messages, I can call ppl, play music and navigate with it. All hands free...

Jaycemiskel

Trusted Member