those that have the S8, anyone seeing Red?

jfenton

Aug 11, 2010
Visit site
S8+ Black on Sprint.
Absolutely pink and being a photographer I won't stay with this.
We checked the only other two available at my Best Buy and both had the exact same issue to differing degrees.
It is treatable by decreasing the red in Adaptive Display but I never use that setting.
The other 3 are non adjustable and all three exhibit the issue.
It can be seen straight on, at various angles, along the edges etc.

This is not simply that Samsung "warmed" the screen up a bit. This is a hardware issue.

Ca_lvn

Sep 3, 2016
Visit site
Well there's no way they will recall this! Just cover it up with a software tweak update, hard to believe this is actually a issue

donm527

Aug 21, 2014
Visit site
https://www.xda-developers.com/south-korean-samsung-galaxy-s8s-owners-facing-reddish-display-issue/

Funny article... Samsung purposely developed deep red display panels to avoid the possible issue of too much green. Well I guess they took care of the green. :p And the part of it's not a quality problem but if sw fix still doesn't fix then they'll exchange it. :confused:

Eh, just first run problems and such to sort out. Always gotta do some tweaks when manufacturing. The vid below shows the guy using a NIX color sensor to get RGB readings... you'd think Samsung would have similar tests to make sure no screens go out the factory outside tolerances. Guess, they'll have to up there QC with a 8 point screen test.

In future runs I imagine the QC will be upped and no issues of pink screens.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTQr6VwMfBI&t=321s

bytheriver

Nov 29, 2013
Visit site
So, I had the issue with my Verizon 8+ ..I posted earlier. They overnighted a replacement...the new phone still has some red on the edges , but definitely not as bad. I also didn't realize how " pink " my entire display was ( in the first device). I'm not 100% satisfied,but the replacement is better so I'm keeping it for now.