Samsung pay denied no encryption

Ca_lvn

Sep 3, 2016
Visit site
Well I stopped at the cafeteria at UCSD for a coffee and Danish, when they asked for payment I used SP and the cashier said that won't work and of course it did.
Then I was told not to use again because it's not encrypted, now I'm not a expert here but a magnetic strip for credit card swipe is no different than using SP to process the transaction they both read the same way right?

N4Newbie

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
I am guessing the concern is that someone (perhaps through a nearby device) could pick up the unencrypted data stream sent by Samsung Pay to mimic a card magstripe.

But, on my list of things to worry about, that one would fall somewhere between #7,846 and 7,922.

TylerLV76

Jun 30, 2016
Visit site
When you Make a Payment

When you make a payment, you will need to authenticate by using your fingerprint or Samsung Pay PIN before the information can be sent to the payment terminal. The merchant will only receive a token, and your payment information will be kept secure. The token will be sent to the payment network, where it will be decrypted and verified against the information stored in a secure vault on internal networks. Once authenticated, the payment will be approved and sent back to the merchant. Only the payment network and your bank will have information about the transaction.

4. Shop Safe

Samsung Pay never provides card readers with your real credit card information. Instead, when you initiate payment, your bank gives Samsung Pay a temporary one-time-use card number. This security procedure, called payment tokenization, means that even if someone could intercept your payment information with a credit card skimmer, the information would be useless.