I've had android phones for quite a while and I know that the carriers always take a long time to get the new updates pushed out.

Now with the Android p developer preview coming soon and maybe a final Android p coming by the end of the year, will AT&T ever get around to pushing out the oreo update for the S8? I'm new to AT&T, so I don't know what their time frame is with updates.
    03-08-2018 06:04 PM
    Give up all hopes of ever getting it on AT&T............ then and only then.... will they release it. Seriously, though, it'll come eventually but AT&T is never really in a hurry. :|
    03-09-2018 02:18 AM
    May be a minute on that. First Samsung has to approve their updates for everyone. Then it goes to AT&T for their approval and certification. Then it gets rolled out. Hopefully soon though. I gotta think Samsung is done on their end.
    03-09-2018 05:21 AM
    May be a minute on that. First Samsung has to approve their updates for everyone. Then it goes to AT&T for their approval and certification. Then it gets rolled out. Hopefully soon though. I gotta think Samsung is done on their end.
    Since it's already rolling out across Europe for the S8 series, Samsung has done its thing.

AT&T has to do their 3 to 6 month "testing" with the final build. And, it still can go back and forth with Samsung if AT&T has any issues with it. Plus, AT&T still has to add their bloat, block/lock out certain settings/features, etc.
    03-09-2018 10:10 AM
    It's fairly obvious that U.S. carriers slow roll Android updates on flagship phones to entice one to purchase a new phone. If Apple can push IOS roll outs simultaneous to call carriers, then it's fairly obvious this is a solvable problem. I think carrier bloatware is the main problem here. I have a Galaxy S8 on Verizon and Verizon has yet to push out Oreo as well.