How to preserve battery life without using power saving mode

Mtneergirl

Jul 31, 2018
Visit site
So I have an s9 and I'm not enjoying PIE at all. I'm new to android and I'm hoping I just don't have something set correctly. Since updating to PIE I'm charging my phone of 8 months 3 times a day. I've had to resort to running constantly in power saving mode which is causing problems. No longer have a 3rd party text tone option, only the stupid preloaded ones (that's enough to send me back to iphone). I'm also not getting notifications most of the time. Not for texts, reminders or other message apps. This is unacceptable as I rely on those alarms and reminders. Is there possibly a setting I can change or anything to help this???

Thanks in advance

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
Since updating to PIE I'm charging my phone of 8 months 3 times a day. I've had to resort to running constantly in power saving mode which is causing problems.
How low do you allow the battery to discharge before charging it? Draining it too far constantly can totally kill it in 3 months. You should never let it get below 40% - either charge it or turn it off at that point.

No longer have a 3rd party text tone option, only the stupid preloaded ones (that's enough to send me back to iphone).
We have a whole thread on that - there's one text tone for all texts now.

I'm also not getting notifications most of the time. Not for texts, reminders or other message apps.
Not in battery saving mode.

Mtneergirl

Jul 31, 2018
Visit site
How low do you allow the battery to discharge before charging it? Draining it too far constantly can totally kill it in 3 months. You should never let it get below 40% - either charge it or turn it off at that point.

I generally charge it when it hits 30% and try not to charge past 85%. But this has just started when I updated last week. Before that I wasn't having any trouble with it.

chanchan05

Q&A Team
Nov 22, 2014
Visit site