GS3 Voice dialling via phone or bluetooth headset

mds167

Aug 2, 2012
Visit site
Hi all,
Hope you can help. I'm new to my GS3 and was planning to get a bluetooth headset to make/receive calls but I can't seem to find how to make a voice call.
Is this function not supported?
Or do I have to use S-Voice
S-Voice only appears to work with my phone unlocked - defeating the object of a bluetooth hand-free!
Perhaps i was too hasty ordering that headset!

anon(973539)

Oct 2, 2012
Visit site
I use a Jawbone Prime, when I hold the call button on the headset, S - Voice is activated so I can voice dial even when the phone is locked.

mds167

Aug 2, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. I was looking at a Samsung clip - hs3000 - so hope it might do the same. Was panicking a bit!
Thanks again.

funkylogik

May 21, 2012
Visit site
cant s-voice be woken with a keyword anyway? (duno coz i dont use it and it would probably swallow your battery lol)

global s3, UK. Ask me anything and ill reply even if its just an intelligent (or stupid) guess ;)

mds167

Aug 2, 2012
Visit site
I think the default wake command is "hi Galaxy" but the couple of times I tried it the phone carried on sleeping!
I've got the headset on order so we''ll see what happens when I get it and have a play.
I've read that JB is better at voice recog - time will tell!

anon(973539)

Oct 2, 2012
Visit site
Forgot to mention the GS3 has some sort of headset profile which means S Voice anounces missed calls etc, never had that on my last phone.

mds167

Aug 2, 2012
Visit site
Hi
A couple of weeks in with the Samsung HS3000 headset now.
I'm still getting to grips with the voice dialling function - the Contact name and number needs to be easy for S-Voice to locate it and not bring up multiple contacts from the address book.

The best thing about the HS3000 is the ability to sync two bluetooth devices.
I purchased a KOKKIA i10s bluetooth adapter so I can have my ipod Classic running at the same time.