Galaxy S3: Motherboard replaced, phone rooted, now what?

Frisp

Apr 1, 2014
Visit site
Hi All,
Serious apologies if this is really easy to solve and sort out but I'm an absolute noob and don't know what I'm doing.

I'm a British Expat living in Malaysia and bought my phone out here at a SAMSUNG shop in January 2013. It completely died 4 weeks ago and i found out it was the motherboard. Got this changed in a small phone shop because SAMSUNG said they couldn't do it/ I should wait and buy the new S5. The Phone works fine now with the new motherboard, only problem is... it's rooted and so won't update from Jellybean 4.1.2.
Have been traipsing through the internet to find a solution to this as i don't really need it to be rooted, I like technology... it just doesn't like me back so I'd rather not risk bricking my phone by having it rooted and just stick to the normal settings- Yes, I'm a chicken- Really, i just want my old phone back.

I've checked the 'download'screen and it says:
Custom Binary Download: Yes (3 counts)
Current Binary: Custum
System Status: Custum

It has CWM Manager on it and it did have Super SU on there till i uninstalled it when i first turned it back on cos i had no idead what it was (Still don't) and didn't know my phone had been rooted. Did they have to root it because it wasn't done by SAMSUNG? I can't go back to the shop because it's in KL and i live 2 hours north of there, also there's the language barrier as they speak Mandarin and i unfortunately don't :)

Any advice/ help would be much appreciated :D If there is a way around it, that lets me update to the new version of jellybean and still remain rooted then that's fine by me. It's out of warranty anyway so i don't mind it being rooted. I just don't like the way my phone looks or works at the moment.

Cheers

Last edited by a moderator:

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Re: Motherboard replaced, phone rooted, now what?

Hi All,