My Tab 2 10.1 is missing features of jelly bean 4.1.1

KevinKdog

Jan 20, 2013
Visit site
I bought my galaxy tab 2 10.1 three weeks ago. It came with jelly bean 4.1.1 installed. I'm new to androids so I have been reading forums and anything I can find to familiarize myself with the operating system. It seems that I keep reading about screen capture being the volume button and power button but on mine it is a single touchscreen button. The camera also doesn't do what i've read that it should and my notifications don't come from a "shade" from the top but it pops up from the bottom. Can someone tell me if I'm missing something or if samsung just held back certain features? Thanks for any help that you can give.

jbwn1259

Nov 27, 2010
Visit site
I't took me a few to figure that out also, I just got mine last week. Look at the bottom of your tablet in notification area to left. There is a square box with a snowflake in the center. I just tap that and it takes the screenshot and you can fine it in your Gallery. Hope this helps.

KevinKdog

Jan 20, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for the reply. I found what you were talking about but from what I've read the update said the screen capture, camera app and notification area should be different than what my version of 4.1.1 is. Seems like the android world is much more complicated than ios! I love the control I have over my device however. Seems like my ipad was less complicated. I think samsung must decide what parts of the updates to make available.

jbwn1259

Nov 27, 2010
Visit site
I love the android system. But you can change it by going into setting, display then quick launch and change from the 5 choices that are given such camera, search etc.

jamb0n2

Mar 6, 2013
Visit site
Hi I am a little confused.
I have a galaxy tab 2 also and like the first post I am quite new to this tab.
I have looked through the reviews of this tab with jelly bean update and it looks like im missing things according to reviews on the web and youtube?