Hi All - a newbie here. Wondering if someone could help provide some insights.

I just got a good deal on a couple of used Sprint Samsung Tab 2 10.1's. I purchased them with the intention of using them to watch my DirecTv programming on. Both are model #'s SPH-P500, hardware version P500.05, running Android version 4.1.2. DirecTV told me I need at least 4.2 to use the DirecTV app.

I'm not computer illiterate, but have very little experience with changing anything more than the common settings. Can I upgrade these myself easily? Will it work well - I've seen threads about people downgrading? Should I just move these 2 down the road and buy a newer version?

TIA!
    10-14-2016 01:55 PM
    Welcome to Android Central! Since it's a Sprint-specific device, they might have to be active on the Sprint network in order to receive the official system update OTA. You might be able to update it with Samsung Kies (or Smart Switch, but a device this old might not be compatible). I can't find any official firmware ROMs on the SamMobile site for that model number, which is a little odd -- this makes me think that Sprint controls the firmware distribution tightly.
    10-15-2016 03:26 AM
    Thanks for the welcome and the response. I tried using Samsung Kies and it says that is the latest software version available. I just realized the available memory is only 4.5gb anyway. Is that big enough to work using Odin? Not sure it's going to be worth the hassle. I may just move these down the road. I'm afraid that even if I do find a way to upgrade the OS, it will lag a lot.
    10-15-2016 07:13 AM
    Sorry, I don't have direct experience with Odin, so I'm not sure. Maybe you could try bringing it to a Sprint store and see if the rep would be nice enough to flash the update. Or the Samsung rep at a Best Buy.
    10-15-2016 12:40 PM
    Great suggestion about the Samsung rep at Best Buy. I'll give that a shot.
    B. Diddy likes this.
    10-16-2016 07:23 AM