New Tab S4 User... A few quick Questions...

quadtronix

Aug 23, 2012
Visit site
Hi all! For those that aren't following the other threads I posted in, I am new to the Tab S4 club having just picked one up last week at Verizon in the Black 64GB flavor. I have since added a 64GB Micro SD for a few movies and shows I have on Google Play and I also purchased the Speck Folio from Verizon the same day I got the tablet. I've been playing around with my new S4 for almost a week now and am very impressed with it. I have a couple concerns which I will ask about in this post and some need for advice about a couple other matters as well all of which I will address here. This may turn into a long post so thanks in advance for your patience and for any input/advice you can provide.

First issue: Not a deal breaker but rather disconcerting is that sometimes (3 or 4 times now) the screen shuts off and wont come back on for 5 to 10 seconds no matter what i do. I try the double tap on-screen, I try the power button (single quick press) and nothing wakes the screen. Then 5-10 seconds later the screen goes back on and I'm at the lock screen which then recognizes my face and a second later I'm back to where I had been before the screen shut off. I was thinking this might be a RAM issue? Or a safeguard from overheating? I'm stumped though... I will add that it seems to mostly happen when I've just finished streaming an episode of a show on Netflix or Amazon Prime Video and one time it kept happening like 5 times after viewing a Netflix episode before it settled down and stopped happening. I thought maybe it might have to do with the fact that I was streaming (on WiFi BTW) so I am going to try a downloaded movie on Google Play later and see if it happens again in that situation. If I have to download my shows before watching on Netflix or Amazon it would not be the end of the world but a little disappointing still, needless to say...