Watchface placebo effect?

stmax

Nov 3, 2014
Visit site
I'm fairly new to my S3 classic (a couple months). I've been dabbling in third party watch faces. Is it just me or does nothing work as well (meaning low battery drain, quick, integrated with weather app etc) as the ones done by Samsung?

The built in Samsung ones often have the shimmer effect that I like and I think they seem to have lower batter drain. But maybe that's my imagination.

Any suggestions for a good third party face with low battery drain and realistic appearance with weather and step percentage on the dial?

A nice AOD mode is bonus. I tend to be drawn towards the Samsung Active Classic, Urban Classic and Minimal if that helps.

11B1P

Trusted Member
Sep 16, 2012
Visit site
I agree with the battery drain. Some of the 3rd party faces are so information rich, they do drain your watch faster. Look at Facer. There are dozens of faces available. Lots of them offer varying levels of information. Install the app on your phone and the companion app on your watch. Then make sure the app is selected before downloading a face to your watch.

ol_jackburton

Trusted Member
Feb 12, 2017
Visit site
I'm fairly new to my S3 classic (a couple months). I've been dabbling in third party watch faces. Is it just me or does nothing work as well (meaning low battery drain, quick, integrated with weather app etc) as the ones done by Samsung?

The built in Samsung ones often have the shimmer effect that I like and I think they seem to have lower batter drain. But maybe that's my imagination.

Any suggestions for a good third party face with low battery drain and realistic appearance with weather and step percentage on the dial?

A nice AOD mode is bonus. I tend to be drawn towards the Samsung Active Classic, Urban Classic and Minimal if that helps.

Absolutely, i have had zero luck finding a third party face that has reliable weather information.

dbregman

Jun 11, 2010
Visit site