I know this has probably been covered at length but just in case i missed something....

I have a Oneplus 6t phone and looking at the Gear Sport. I was 99% ready to pull the trigger due to its size, waterproof, dial , etc but then saw the compatibility matrix and shows email , messenging and phone are all not supported on non galaxy android so that was a bit of a show stopper

for some i saw saying that it works SOMETIMES depending on the phone. I dont really care to reply to emails/texts or answer calls but it would be nice to be able to see the info on the watch (read the text/email see whos calling, etc).

Can anyone confirm that these 3 functions do NOT work on non samsung phones? or even more specifically on the Oneplus 6t? that might push me to having to look at Wear OS unfortunately
    01-02-2019 02:49 PM
    I've been using my Gear Sport watch with my LG G6 phone for several months now, and it's been working great. In fact, it seems to be working better than my old Moto 360 Android Wear OS watch. I can read my Gmail messages, Textra text messages, and see in coming phone calls on my Gear device. So, I believe seeing messages and notifications works fine, but sending emails, etc. won't work.
    01-03-2019 11:25 AM
    I'd go with Wear OS all day. Many more options and apps than Samsung
    01-03-2019 12:18 PM
    thank you for the feedback! i keep hearing Textra as being successful. Would you mind testing w/ the stock Messenger to see how it works? if you dont want to no biggie

So i've gone back and forth w/ samsung and wear os and keep coming back to the gear sport due to the size, better battery life than most wear os ones and hardware. my main use i'm looking for is being able to use on runs/gym to use the gps for tracking/pace and having offline music. and of course the sms, call info.