KansasCityJoe

Apr 2, 2010
Visit site
Here are the details:

Firmware version: 2.1-update1
Baseband version: S:M900.8.05.DC23
Kernel version: 2.6.29
Build number: ECLAIR.DC23

Just got it early this morning and it is not for general release yet. I just started playing with it, but it seems much faster/more responsive than 1.5.

It does not appear to have pinch-to-zoom on either the Gallery or the Browser. Same backgrounds/bloatware that 1.5 has. When you launch NFL Mobile Live, it tells you it will be replaced by "Sprint Football Live".

It actually, now, has VPN built in (PPTP, L2TP, L2TP/IPSec both PSK and Certificate-based). Bluetooth is vastly improved. There is no more cutting out. Your headset will re-pair without having to put the phone into discoverable mode after you reboot.

You slide-to-answer a phone call now. It has voice input ("an experimental feature using Google's networked speech recognition") built it and it actually works! No more texting while driving! Extremely cool!

Email will now work with any certificate (not just signed).

The update erases everything on the device, and it's probably a good idea just to reinstall everything from scratch. Some of the 1.5 apps I'm not finding in the Market for 2.1. And some versions of apps in the Market say they don't work with 2.0 yet.

I'll post more as I find interesting stuff.

Last edited:

Mike20PR

Oct 14, 2009
Visit site
no live wallpapers? how bout the new gallery app? web browser improved? (now more loading zoomed in already?)

release date? battery life?

thanx for the info

mustangboy88#AC

Feb 17, 2010
Visit site
I don't think we are getting live wallpaper because the processor can't support it. But I may be wrong. Can you make a youtube video so we can see it in action?

joeykrim

Apr 2, 2010
Visit site
a ROM dump would be great!!
if the kernel has the config.gz compiled in with it, it is small and would be great to see that also!

from the command line:
adb pull /proc/config.gz c:\config.gz