Benefits of rooting and not loading a custom ROM?

neoncorey

Jun 7, 2010
Visit site
I am new to Android, came from a Palm PRE (which I patched, hacked, overclocked, etc). I am running an HTC EVO, which so far I really like and I am happy with. My question right now is, if I am NOT going to load a custom ROM then what is the advantage to rooting? And what disadvantages? My only true goal currently is to remove some of the pre-installed apps that I never use and maybe add tethering, but I just want to make sure it is worth rooting for these 2 advantages that I know of.

I know similar questions are asked all the time online, for which I have looked a little bit about. I was just wondering if someone can confirm I am understanding it correctly being that I don't care to load a new ROM; because I don't want to deal with the hassle of loading Phone packages, not having Sense UI work, or worrying about OTA updates failing.

Advantages:
1. Get priv to remove bloated pre-loaded apps like Amazon Mp3 (not sure if there is another uninstaller app once rooted that allows the removal of the apps or not)
2. Load tethering application

Disadvantages:
1. Most custom ROMs don't play well with Sense UI which I like.
2. Seems like there are multiple additionals packages that need loaded afterwards at times, like the Phone radio and others?
3. Mixed reports on if the Sprint OTA updates will work with a rooted phone, hopefully it just overwrites it?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks

htcevohack99

Jul 2, 2010
Visit site