Rooting and backup question.

osubeavs728

Jan 27, 2010
Visit site
Hi everyone, I'm new to the whole android thing so forgive me for my newb question, i did search, but couldn't find what i was looking for. So i just rooted my droid running 2.0.1, and i keep seeing everywhere that i should do a backup with nandroid. However, i can't seem to find nandroid anywhere, on top of that i was wondering, if the only thing i really care about are my contacts, which would reload when logging into my gmail account, do i really need to do a backup? Also, can i still go back to an unrooted 2.0.1 without root by simply doing the factory reset? thanks for all the help.

R

Roy Aguilera

Hi everyone, I'm new to the whole android thing so forgive me for my newb question, i did search, but couldn't find what i was looking for. So i just rooted my droid running 2.0.1, and i keep seeing everywhere that i should do a backup with nandroid. However, i can't seem to find nandroid anywhere, on top of that i was wondering, if the only thing i really care about are my contacts, which would reload when logging into my gmail account, do i really need to do a backup? Also, can i still go back to an unrooted 2.0.1 without root by simply doing the factory reset? thanks for all the help.

You need a nandroid back up if you load any custom roms. Factory reset alone will not unroot.

R

Roy Aguilera

so if i want to go to 2.1 i need nandroid, is what im guessing?

If you want to go 2.1 you should do a Nandroid back up. You can always go back without one but it will take your phone to the original state the phone came in. You will need to borrow a back up. If you do a Nandroid back up. When you reapply it, everything will be as it was before you went 2.1
You will not have to do a thing to your phone.
Think restore point on a PC.

osubeavs728

Jan 27, 2010
Visit site