[GINGERBREAD][EL30] Official EL30 Gingerbread Samsung Epic 4g

Skunkape60

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
Yes. :( I hate it!! That was one of my favorite features. It just doesn't do my wallpaper justice anymore....

That's weird... Just picked up my daughters replacement epic from the sprint store and it was pre loaded with EL30. Her scrolling wallpaper works just fine. No different than before as far as how it scrolls.

Just flash it...

Vinman911

Dec 24, 2011
Visit site
Help. I think I need some instructions.

I did not root my phone (I'm new to all of this), but I did follow the videos awhile ago to install CWM to apply the GPS Fix.

I got the OTA push a few days ago, but waited until now to try to uninstall the GPS fix. However, I think I copied the wrong GPS file to my phone before trying the OTA install. I ran oldgps.zip, not removeGPSFIX.zip (or whatever the actual names are).

The OTA update failed, so I went back and finally found the removegpsfix.zip and copied that to my phone.

I don't know what to do next. I am not getting the OTA update anymore. I get the message that I have the current version.

I'm reading about manually pushing the EL30 file by renaming it to Update.zip, but I'm unclear about where to get that file and then how to launch it. Is it something I do from CWM or from something else?

Desperate thanks!

Steve S

The oldgps file is the correct way to revert your gpsd file back to EL22 version (needed for the update to work).

Follow the instructions in this thread POST #1 to download the EL30 update file, rename it and manually update your phone if the OTA isn't working for you.

srschacher

Apr 1, 2011
Visit site
Vinman,

Thanks for replying.

I am not rooted, but did install CWM so I could apply the initial GPS Fix. This resulted in no longer having the stock recovery in order to manually update to EL30.