[GINGERBREAD][EL30] Official EL30 Gingerbread Samsung Epic 4g

CypressJohn

Jan 26, 2012
Visit site
Much appreciated. As a noob I was very worried about getting EI22 back to original config so I could eventually let it update to EL30.

The oldgps file worked great and got me back to standard - waiting for the re-push to EL30 as it seems to ask several times a day.

GPSfix definately worked wonders to the GPS quality on EI22. I'll try EL30 GPS as it is for a few days, then install the fix if needed.

Battery life issues from GPSfix wasn't an issue in the car due to the charger, and it worked awesome for 12 hours at a time. I did have to turn off the display on long trips as it was draining the battery faster than the charger could charge (slightly, over a very long trip).

Thanks TONS - you guys rock! But now my expectations for the GPS are very high ...

Last edited:

rando991

Sep 21, 2010
Visit site
I had this problem in EI22, but have not experienced this issue at all in EL30 and I use my GPS pretty much daily for at least an hour at a time, sometimes more. I ran the GPS fix in EI22, but am running completely stock EL30.

That's great! Would you mind though and download a free app called GPS Status and Toolbox? It will show how many satellites are visible and how many you are locked onto. Green is locked, but there is a number to the right that shows how many. I tried stock EL30 on both our phones for a few days...day 1 I could get only 6 out of 10 to lock (and that was enough), but the next day I could only get 4, then the next all day could only get 2...not enough to complete the nav solution...as you have to have at the minimum 3 triangulations and one timing judge (4 total) in any gps scenario.
Hence, I installed the GPS_fix, and am getting fast, 9/10 locks when I need them. I keep GPS integrated all the time and since CIQ Agent was removed in EL30, I am getting great battery life (I do and previously have, freeze certain services like DRM and SNSservice).