Having trouble adding a Google account? This worked for me.

drake22

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting at androidcentral. I just wanted to share a solution that I figured out to a problem that many people (including me) have had with Android. The issue at hand is the inability to add a Google account, after the initial boot-up, to sync with your Android phone (it times out and claims you do not have an Internet connection when you do). Solutions that I found on the web ranged from clearing the caches on all Google programs to signing in using Youtube first and then adding the account to completely clearing your phone and starting fresh. Doing a factory reset seems to be the only way that I could find works 100% of the time for most people. I figured out a new solution that I think will work for most or all people that do not want to completely wipe their phone (I sure didn't).

BEFORE YOU PROCEED: COMPLETE THIS PROCEDURE AT YOUR OWN RISK. I am NOT RESPONSIBLE for your borked phone or for any bad things that may happen due to you following the steps I have posted. That being said, I will gladly try and help you complete this procedure if you have difficulty.

Please note: I did this procedure on a Samsung Epic 4G running Android 2.1 Eclair with the Epic Experience v1.1.10 ROM and the SPH-D700 Hero Over 1.3ghz voodoo DI18 kernel installed.

The short explanation of the solution is that it consists of copying the accounts database and xml files to a computer, adding the accounts and sync settings manually, and copying back to your phone (root is required to copy back to your phone). Here is the more in-depth process:

1. Open up a terminal emulator on your phone and type the following commands:
cp /data/system/accounts.db /sdcard
cp /data/system/sync/accounts.xml /sdcard