I have my auto brightness unchecked and I keep it at 30%. However, lately, the phone is starting to either take the brightness all the way down or move it all the way up. When it changes, it usually goes lower. What is happening and is it a GS2 problem? How can I find out what it doing this?
    10-03-2011 07:05 PM
    I have my auto brightness unchecked and I keep it at 30%. However, lately, the phone is starting to either take the brightness all the way down or move it all the way up. When it changes, it usually goes lower. What is happening and is it a GS2 problem? How can I find out what it doing this?
    Any chance it is lower when you are browsing? I think there is a setting in web browsing where you can change the brightness for browser. But I'm a noob and could be completely wrong. Also, I think there is a battery saving setting that could change your brightness when the battery hits a certain level which I think defaults at 50% but I'm not sure if it would warn you first.
    10-03-2011 07:10 PM
    I think its a bug because the same thing happens to me, I have auto brightness checked off as well but sometimes it goes all the way up automatically, so it has to be a bug
    10-03-2011 09:19 PM
    Are you aware that you can change the brightness by swiping across the notification bar? I keep my auto off and find this feature indispensable, in the sun? swipe right, problem solved.
    10-03-2011 09:23 PM
    There's a setting under the display menu called "auto adjust screen power" that's independent of the brightness setting.

I took a screenshot so you can see exactly what I'm talking about. The description matches what you're experiencing.

Sent from my Epic 4G Touch
    10-03-2011 09:56 PM
    Are you aware that you can change the brightness by swiping across the notification bar? I keep my auto off and find this feature indispensable, in the sun? swipe right, problem solved.