E4G will not resume 3G data connection once WiFi is absent.

lbnyrob

Sep 25, 2011
Visit site
Hey!
I looked around the forums but did not uncover a similar post.

At home and in parts of my community I can rely on WiFi for data but lately it seems that when I move out of areas in which I have Wi-Fi access my phone will not regain any Sprint-based 3G or 4G data connections. As such I cannot utilize any web based services and do not get certain data.

When I manually turn off the WiFi option from the settings, 3G will still not be activated.

When I shut down the phone and then restart it, I will regain 3G. The last two times, I went into the settings, unchecked and then rechecked 3G under Network options and 3G connectivity returned.

I have to think that the switching between WiFi access when available and back to 3G (and 4G?) when the WiFi access is gone should not require a manul response from me.

I'm fairly new to the Android family, coming from a Palm Pre original.

Am I missing something here or is there a problem that I should be aware of?

Thank you!
Rob

JayWill

Jun 21, 2011
Visit site
You've got a problem somewhere. 3G should kick in immediately after you lose a wifi signal. I'd contact Sprint and have them re-provision your phone. You could try a factory reset before that though.

Reactions: lbnyrob

lbnyrob

Sep 25, 2011
Visit site
Am I correct in assuming that a "factory reset" is a "hard reset" and that all of my data, contacts, page set-ups and downloads will be erased?

Eric16

Jun 6, 2010
Visit site