Looked at similar threads but could not find answer...
    Rooted last weekend, is there a b/u already in CWM recovery ?? or do I have to go to CWM
    and do a manual b/u ? Have herd to do a b/u before installing new Roms or flashing themes, but never herd of just doing a b/u just to on the safe side, the way you would your laptop. Lets say I download an app market/non market and it takes a crap in my phone and all of a sudden I'm getting f/c, boot loops or no boot, at this point would it be safe to say that because I did a b/u, I can go into CWM and restore from there....? VS not having done a b/u as I am at present !
    Yes I'm new at this, hope its not a stupid question.
    11-09-2011 10:39 AM
    There are never stupid questions, just stupid answers.

To perform a Nandroid backup, you have to boot into CWM and navigate to Backup/Restore on the menu. You can backup whenever you want of course, but I probably wouldn't do it when you just install Apps. Applications can easily be cleared and uninstalled, and rarely if ever cause boot problems like a ROM can.

But as a general rule, it's a good idea to do a Nandroid backup anytime you flash a ROM or Theme, or to a lesser extent a Kernel. A Nandroid backup is essentially an image of your existing system. So if anything goes wrong, or you simply don't like something about what you just flashed, you can easily boot back into CWM and restore your system to its exact state at the time of the backup. Backups are sorted by date, so you can even go back to an older one if you want.
    PanchoPlanet likes this.
    11-09-2011 10:54 AM
    That was a good answer JayWill72. You made very simple to understand.
    Thanks again,

.... Live long and prosper ...
    11-09-2011 01:15 PM