Samsung Epic 4g touch from SPRINT

slowride66

Nov 8, 2011
Visit site
Hey howdy HI hows it going .

I am A nOOb to Android my last smart phone was a Palm Treo 650 so I feel as if I went thru a Star Trek Transporter.

Now I searched & did not find a thread that had to do exactly with this subject .
ANY WAY!

I really like the Android its nice & simple but after biting the bait I learn SPRINT has some restrictions like Tethering {new term for me} used to be a hot sync {sort of}

So I really want / need to make a all in one place for me to learn & anyone else to share.

OK I am GREEN! go ahead make you punny jokes feel better?

Where can I get a translation to all the new terms I spend too much time stopping & googling them.

I also want you all to step up & make a Pro's & Con's list for

the QUESTION ;

To ROOT or not to ROOT! because SPRINT will do it for you I guess for about $40 MORE A MONTH!!!!!! sort of.

RANT RANT RANT!!!!!!

SO People treat me as if I been in a cave & have never seen a cell phone or contemplated the thought of a Smart phone & try to Educate us up.

Please that is.

I hope to learn a lot here thanks for your help!

Slowride66

Gator352

Banned
Sep 11, 2010
Visit site
Well to start off....

Hot sync on the Treo is nothing like tethering. Tethering is another term for hotspot if you will. What it does is use your phone as a gateway to the internet for other devices. Say you have a tablet that's wifi only (no 3G, 4G, etc.) but has tethering capabilities and you really need to connect that tablet to the internet, you can tether that tablet to your phone and surf the web via 3G/4G using wifi on the tab. There is a data cap tethering though and overages are pretty steep.