Hey Guys, I have never attempted to root a phone. However with the latest ICS update for the Epic Touch 4g having lost my Pda.net and Fox fi it's been kinda a pain in the ***.

I like the new "look" but the battery life and loss of free tethering is lame.

I see tons of "how to" vids on youtube but I'd like a bit of feedback on what's easy for a first timer, what's not and other info I should consider before pulling the trigger.

Thanks.
    08-30-2012 06:05 PM
    If you updated to the newest, FF13, you will have to wait. There's no root available just yet. I have to re-root mine as well after doing the update.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Central Forums
    08-31-2012 06:37 AM
    a little over a month ago, I was in the same boat. I am a newb when it comes to rooting and was terrified to brick my phone. I took the leap of faith and with assistance from the forums, I am happily rooted! For the BEST and safest way, go to this posing: http://forums.androidcentral.com/epi...-firmware.html
    Jay helped me out a lot!!!!!! The guy is the best! I am rooted on FF18 and quite happy....for now....until CM10 becomes available.
    08-31-2012 06:42 AM
    Hey Guys, I have never attempted to root a phone. However with the latest ICS update for the Epic Touch 4g having lost my Pda.net and Fox fi it's been kinda a pain in the ***.

I like the new "look" but the battery life and loss of free tethering is lame.

I see tons of "how to" vids on youtube but I'd like a bit of feedback on what's easy for a first timer, what's not and other info I should consider before pulling the trigger.

Thanks.