Does anyone know how to enable Smart Stay? It's been said that this is a new addition to the Jelly Bean update. I can't find it anywhere.
    04-01-2013 01:49 PM
    From what I've read in other forums, I don't believe we're getting Smart Stay for the E4GT. However, if you're looking for an excellent alternative, I highly recommend Screebl, which utilizes the phone's motion sensors to detect current viewing/reading angle (that you set). As long as you keep the phone angled (for reading/viewing) within those parameters, the display will remain on. Only when you go outside the parameters (ie: put the phone down), will Screebl allow the phone display to turn off (in the timeout you set - I use 15 seconds).

I own the Pro version, but the most up-to-date version that I've been using for several months without issue is Screebl Beta. I believe it's still available for free in the Play store. Give it a shot... I hope it helps!

redhdgirl417 and planase like this.
    04-02-2013 11:26 AM
    Thank you for the great review for Screebl, I will check it out. However, on Sprint's website, it says that the SG2 is getting SmartStay with the GB27 update. Why would they say that we get SmartStay and we don't get it?

Sprint Community: Announcements: Samsung Galaxy S II Gets Jelly Bean Update

Beginning today, Samsung Galaxy S II customers will be able to upgrade to Android 4.1, Jelly Bean, via an over-the-wire update (via Samsungs Simple Upgrade Tool, SAMSUNG).

Jelly Bean offers users stunning graphic capabilities with expanded feature functionality. This software update will make several premium and intuitive Galaxy S III features available to Galaxy S II users.

Smart Stay: Tracks eye movement to ensure the device screen is always on while its viewed so the backlight doesnt dim or become idle
    Direct Call: Converts text message interface to the voice call interface by simply raising the phone to the ear