I bought a s2 like 5months ago, using the sprint system through boost mobile. service has been horrible in south central Pa and northern Md. Talked with sprint they said they are doing upgrades and going to a 800mhz system. the system is currently on and working. sprint told me that my phone would be obsolete when everything is said and done. Is there away to hack, root, jailbreak whatever you call it to get my phone to work on that system? since i am with boost paid way to much for this phone, and don't want to have to replace it already. I am very new to all this and cell phone ignorant.
    06-08-2013 11:00 PM
    I bought a s2 like 5months ago, using the sprint system through boost mobile. service has been horrible in south central Pa and northern Md. Talked with sprint they said they are doing upgrades and going to a 800mhz system. the system is currently on and working. sprint told me that my phone would be obsolete when everything is said and done. Is there away to hack, root, jailbreak whatever you call it to get my phone to work on that system? since i am with boost paid way to much for this phone, and don't want to have to replace it already. I am very new to all this and cell phone ignorant.

You won't be able to get 4G anymore. The S2 was built with a WiMax 4G antenna, not the same as LTE. You should still be able to get 3G just fine, as I believe not much is changing with that signal.
    srkmagnus likes this.
    06-08-2013 11:09 PM

I almost forgot...gaining root access or flashing (installing) a custom ROM will not change the antennas. Something like that would require physically rebuilding the device.
    srkmagnus likes this.
    06-08-2013 11:11 PM
    Yes, the 4g aspect will become obsolete. You'll still be able to make calls, use data on 3g and WiFi, etc.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
    Golfdriver97 likes this.
    06-09-2013 09:50 AM