[SOLVED] help needed, replaced build.prop & phone won't start up

hiero

Aug 19, 2011
Visit site
Ok, yes it seems I made a mistake and I'm new to this, so apologies. But I tried going in and changing build.prop (specifically ro.camera.sound.forced=0 to get the camera to go quiet when the phone was set to silent) and when I rewrote the file into the system, I ended up with a phone that won't go past the 'Samsung Galaxy SIII' screen into the Sprint boot. I searched around and found that my SBF might be trashed, but at this point I'm unsure as to how to get it reloaded properly.
I am able to get into the recovery (up volume, home button, power button), and may have made a further mistake by formatting the /system. Unfortunately, I didn't make a backup using that utility until AFTER the build.prop problem, so even though I tried to recover using the recovery I made (after the problem), it is understandably not working.

Am I totally screwed or is there a way to get me back? Any help is greatly appreciated.

PookiePrancer

Jul 17, 2010
Visit site
Re: help needed, replaced build.prop and phone won't start up now

You did all that, and you're asking for help in this forum?! :O If you can get into recovery, you're not screwed, but I would probably load and flash a new rom if I were you. Never, ever, mess with system files without a good nandroid.

Have you tried asking at XDA Forums?

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site

There is one option.... If you can still get into CWM, you have a chance at getting it back...

If someone who is currently rooted and hasn't done anything to their device can make a Nandroid Backup, then provide you with that Nandroid Backup you would have a chance at restoring that and getting your device back to working form.