[SGSIII][Sprint] Android Central Rom and Kernel Library

Skunkape60

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
I am hosting this thread as sort of a one stop database for different ROMs and Kernels. I hope every one finds this a useful thread. I will do my best to keep this current and updated. I know most of you know what ROMs and Kernels are. While I'm far from an expert I thought I would perhaps give a very brief and simple explanation of each (were all noobs at one time) before listing what's available.

ROMs

ROMs hold the operating system, user interface, apps, wallpaper, and themes for your android device. They reside on "read only memory" thus the name ROM.

Some of the benefits of custom ROMs are:

1. They get updated more often and are usually more up to date than stock.
2. Improved performance and efficiency
3. Improved Battery life
4. Removal of bloatware
5. Custom themes and user interfaces
6. They're just plain cool !

Some drawbacks of custom ROMs are:

1. Installing custom ROMs generally involves having to perform a clean wipe. So be sure to back up often (Titanium Backup, My backup Pro to name a few) and NEVER forget your Nandroid (CWM Recovery Back up)
2. Custom ROMs may have bugs that cause your device to have issues
3. Voids the Manufacturer Warranty (just like rooting)! (You can always go back to stock unrooted state prior to turning phone in for warranty work)

Kernels:

The term kernel comes from Linux, which is kind of the forerunner of Android. All Android phones come with a kernel installed on them. It is the communication link between hardware and software. One of its most important functions is battery usage and cpu control. It is used to access the gps, wifi and radio. Pretty much everything your phone does runs through the kernel.

Just click on the rom or kernel below to take you to it's thread...

If you find a ROM or Kernel I don't have listed and want to add it, please PM me the link and I will add it.

Last edited:

Skunkape60

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site