Are ota's safe after root?

Apr 10, 2012
Visit site
Rooted my first Android device today but didn't rom it because I'm just getting into this stuff, but I have a quick question, as a rooted non rommed user, are ota's safe?

Like will I be a able to get jelly bean and everything will work fine or will I have to unroot before any ota updates?
On my Samsung galaxy s3 running android 4.0

Because unlike ios, i keep my apps in app drawers, and not in infinite cluttered homescreens

Cyber Warrior

Robots Will Kill
Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
Normally you don't want to accept an OTA while rooted. Most likely if you do, you will just lose root but if you've messed with system files like freezing/deleting bloat (pre-installed apps) or any other system file including an unlocked bootloader... you run into the chance of soft bricking the phone.

So you can either unroot/return the phone to stock... then accept the OTA and re-root the phone afterwards (given the OTA doesn't mess with the root procedure)...

...Or usually developers will release a version of the OTA that's safe to flash to a rooted phone. (your best bet)

Apr 10, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for the response, I only rooted, i didnt unlock the bootloader and have 0 idea what that is anyway

I'm only concerned about this for the upcoming jelly bean update that we will eventually get so I guess I'll deal with this when the update comes out

And I haven't frozen any apps or anything

So how does this unroot thing work anyway? Is it easy?

To root u just added a file to my phone, plugged it into my computer, ran it, popped out the battery etc

So is unrooting a simular process?

Because unlike ios, i keep my apps in app drawers, and not in infinite cluttered homescreens

Cyber Warrior

Robots Will Kill
Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
-Yes unrooting is the same procedure.. you just take the stock ROM image and flash it back to the phone in the ODIN program.